NEWS‎ > ‎

Manitobans decided its time for a change

posted Apr 25, 2016, 1:06 PM by Kathy Carr
It was a 35 day campaign, much shorter than its federal counter part, but in those 35 days, Manitobans decided that it was time for a change and on Tuesday, April 19, the province showed just how much of a change they wanted by electing a Progressive Conservative majority.
The 41st election had many upsets as the residents of the province decided that after nearly 17 years of the NDP in power, it was time for a fresh start giving the PC's 40 seats compared to the 19 seats they won in the 2011 and knocking the NDP down to 14 seats from the 37 seats they had after the last election. The Liberals did very well in this election though, winning three seats compared to only winning one in 2011.
One of the biggest upsets that happened in the election was west of us as the riding of Brandon East turned blue after being a NPD seat since it was created in 1968. The change brings Len Isleifson into provincial politics after working in municipal politics as a Councillor for the City of Brandon.
In his concession speech, Greg Selinger  announced that he will be stepping down as leader of the NDP. "I do take responsibility for the election outcome. That is the responsibility of the leader," he said on Tuesday night.
It was also a tough election for Liberal leader Rana Bokhari who came in a disappoint third in her riding of Fort Rouge. As of press time, there was no word yet if she would continue on as the leader of the party or step down.
When it comes to our riding in Agassiz, we stayed blue with Eileen Clarke (who won the nomination for the PC's after former MLA Stu Briese said he would not be running in this election) receiving 5,199 votes. 
Following her was Independent candidate Damian Dempsey receiving 901 votes, NDP candidate Courtney Lucas received 441 votes and Green Party candidate Robert F. Smith had 401.
In the Spruce Woods riding, incumbent PC candidate Cliff Cullen was elected to another four years with 5,178 votes. 
Coming in second behind Cliff was Manitoba Party candidate Malcolm McKellar with 733 votes, following McKellar was Amanda Chmelyk who ran for the NDP and received 670 votes. Liberal candidate Jaron Hart recieved 496 votes.
Clearly this election has shown that  Manitobans want change, so now its up to Brian Pallister and the PC's to show the province the change that they voted for.
by Kathy Carr